We are always growing up!

When I was growing up my mom would often ask me in a manner that sounded like anything was possible, Robbie, who are you going to be when you grow up? class picture My parents made me believe anything was possible.  I had goals that changed all through my life including after college, and after graduate school too!

Back in my first year in college I remember having a life changing experience.  I was required to do a personality typology test which revealed to me that I was an introvert. I didn’t even know introversion existed!  Oh the relief I found and still find in my introversion.  You see for the 20+ years prior I lived in a family of extroverts and I had believed I must be one too.  When I realized there were introverts in the world and I wasn’t an oddball it freed me up to be me!

Peter Daniels talks about this phenomenon in his book, “How to reach your life goals.”  We must dig deeper to find out who we are and what OUR goals are because we are programmed to perform to others expectations.   Daniels says we must ask ourselves the question, Where do my desires really come from (p.18)?

So where do our goals and aspirations come from?  Who do you feel called to be?  Set aside those visions others have provided for you, or the ones you have erected like I did.   Who do you want to be when you grow up?  Almost anything is possible!

Leave a Comment

