The most important things that bring joy to all parts of your life.

Procrastination gets the best of us all doesn’t it?  I shouldn’t eat that, but I do.  I need to clean the garage, but I don’t.  I need to do the taxes, but I get an extension.  I need to research or learn about this, but I am so busy.  I need to exercise, but …..

Life pulls at us from all directions and so often we neglect the things that are so most important to everything while spending time with insignificant issues like television, social media, napping, or stressing about things that are our of our control.

So today I want to focus on some things that need to be focused on.  In our world of distractions we all get things out of kilter now and then and we need to pull things back on track.  If we are growing and putting our best effort in these three areas we will find a rich life in all aspects.

I remember vividly when I was in graduate school full time working full time and feeling completely overwhelmed.  What did I do?  I’d watch TV late into the night when  I could be studying or sleeping or exercising or focusing on the right things.

For me there are three MAJOR things you can’t neglect because they impact everything else.  These are things we tend to ignore until there is a problem and I want to encourage you to move these things to the top of your priority list.

First, your physical health.  I know you have at least on acquaintance who smoked like an over fed diesel engine until the day they had a heart attack.  They quit cold turkey even though they were told for decades to stop!  Why do we wait?  Why do we deny eating poorly and sitting instead of physical activity?  You know if you don’t have your health… you have huge limitations that impact all your relationships and life in general.  I am not talking negatively about anyone, but if you had to choose between healthy and unhealthy it isn’t a hard decision.  Yoga is a great way to start excercising!

https://www.doyouyoga.com/course/the-30-day-yoga-challenge/

Second, your financial health.  Have you known someone who was just too uncomfortable with their finances so they simply ignored them?  It is the same type of behavior with your health.  We can’t let our financial decisions be arbitrary or passive just because we don’t know or don’t want to spend the time.  If you don’t know you need to invest the time to take care of your finances or find someone to come alongside you and give you the support you need.  Maybe this area requires getting a new job or getting new education to change your  vocation.  Maybe it means getting help from someone who has the skills you don’t have in finance.  Maybe you just need to focus on this area and become more financially healthy though personal discipline. Im not talking about needing to be rich, but if you had to choose between having what you needed and less it isn’t a hard decision either.  The book Sacred Cows is an amazing disovery book about finances and has many of the topics I teach families about with the leap model, which is discussed in the video below.

 

The third area I believe we all tend to neglect has to do with our spiritual health.  So many times I have heard people say I’m not ready to make a spiritual move.  I need to make sure if it is right or I need to change my ways before God will accept me.  Or I am repulsed by the people around me who value spirituality and because of them I reject god altogether.  I actually think Spiritual health is our most important area to spend time.  Growth in this area has impact on every area of our existence, not only how we treat our self, our family, our neighbor, our enemies and even the earth.  Our morals  and our essence come from our spirituality.  Anyone who says they are not spiritual is in denial.  A person may be spiritually deprived, but everyone is spiritual.  Richard Foster is believed to be the most leading speaker and writer on Spiritual discipline.

Balance

For ultimate health we need to have a balance in our lives where we aren’t over indulging in anything and sacrificing healthiness somewhere else.

Excuses

You know the same thing is said about all three of these issues:  I am just so busy.  I think that is important and I’ll get back to that after my job stress drops, or when I have more time, or this time of year is just a difficult time.  Sometimes we will neglect one of these big ones for one of the other big ones and we just can’t ignore any of these three areas and live to our potential.

These things are related.  You see when your physical body isn’t on track it is harder to think clearly and feel like doing the right thing.  When your finances are not well planned you are hindered by fears and questions of how things will work out and lack of resources hinders you from helping others as much.  When you are not well grounded spiritually you lack the anchor for making ethical decisions outside your personal preferances and desires.

Abundance/Scarcity

I compare a scarcity mindset compared to an abundance mindset to these important areas of life.  Do you believe that most things are a win lose scenario?  Do you think others lose when you are successful?  This is a scarcity mindset.  When we tell ourselves lies like we don’t have time to focus or put effort into the most important things we buy that scarcity mindset.  When we become convinced that our experience with God is the only way that God can interact with us we have a scarcity mindset.  When we resolve that unless someone agrees  with us they are our enemy we have a scarcity mindset.

So I encourage you today to focus on these big things first and avoid slipping into the thinking that you don’t have enough time to do what you should be doing.  That you are helpless to change.  That you are destined to always be the victim.  I encourage you to flip the switch and begin the learning process to grow and change and expand your world as you focus on the big things.  Feeling helpless, fearful or trapped is what famed Zig Ziglar refers to as “stinking thinking.”  Take charge of these important life aspects and make them the first things you focus when life tries to distract you.

By the way, I would love to hear your comments and thoughts on on this blog.  Do you suggest I add other areas that are the most important things?  Do you disagree with my three?

Thanks!

Rob

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

