Stop letting your butt get in your way!

This week I have been on a personal retreat.  The main reason  is I needed to study for a 7 hour FINRA exam to help families and small businesses with financial strategies.  I love financial stuff and I mentioned to one of my clients this week that I feel like a geek because I enjoy learning about these things so much, but I know how important finances are to families and marriages and that I can help them more as I expand my knowledge.

I learned a long time ago how valuable it is to do new things and do hard things! It was no different when I was learning human behavior, Psychology therapies and communication skills.  Or when I started lifting weights in Junior High, got into mechanics, rehabing houses, guitar, life coaching, or online marketing…  Each of these things took hours and hours of effort. Probably the most challenging endeavor for me is the guitar.  It takes mental and physical skill and the guitar has so much depth to what you can learn about it.  Compared to other things I’ve learned I don’t think I will ever be able to learn everything about the guitar.

So the issue I want to discuss today is what gets in our way of doing things we really want to do.  What keeps people from stretching, learning and growing.  I can’t tell you how often in my life (often daily) I have heard people say, I could never do that, (like learn a new skill, be a foster or adoptive parent, start a hobby, increase my knowledge in something, exercise or lose weight, or simply do something outside their normal skills and experiences.  People use reasons like they don’t have the temperament, the patience, the ability or the resources.  I think the thing I hear the most is that they don’t have the TIME.

People allow themselves to be consumed with so many activities that personal growth is sacrificed.  One of the best investments you can make for the good of everyone around you is in yourself.  I am not saying you should be selfish, but if you become a better more well rounded and fulfilled person you can better share yourself with others.  True, sometimes personal growth must be sacrificed for a season, but most things do not have to be sacrificed forever.

Here’s my perspective,  we all do what we want to do.  We make TIME for what we want to make time for.  We spend our resources on what we choose to spend them on.  So the next time you start to say to someone, “I’d like to do that or I always wanted to do that BUT…

Please stop yourself.

Don’t put that BUT in front of you.

You know where your butt belongs?  Right behind you!  Remind yourself your but needs to be put behind you and you need to move forward with your best effort.

If you let buts get in your way you will always wonder what it would have been like if you’d have tried.  And most of those dreams, question marks or things can still be tried at any time in your life.  You can always start learning and growing without upsetting everything you have going.  Just be willing to stretch and take small steps to learn about it.  Get a book at the library or google about it.  Consider a life coach or someone you know who can help you grow and make baby steps toward your goal.

If you’ve pushed a dream or idea down because you let a but get in your way… Make the change today and I am going bet that your family and friends will help you get it done. Share your dreams with those around you and start stretching beyond where you are today.  If you need or want a life coach… I would be glad to talk to you about it, but be sure to reach out to someone and share your desires because we are made for relationship and important things are done in relationship with others.

Thank you to my wife and kids for supporting me and giving me this week alone to stretch, learn and grow.

 

Leave a Comment

